Facebook  RSS - Français 


Upcoming Awards Ceremony: Looking for Volunteers

The Prix Rideau Awards (PRA) are gearing up for the next awards ceremony which will take place Sunday, September 27st 2015 at the Maison du Citoyen in Gatineau (secteur Hull) in the Salle Jean-Despréz. This celebration will exceptionally cover a period of 18 months (from January 1st 2014 to June 30th 2015) as the PRA transitions into a new season based model for the upcoming 2015-2016 season.  As such, henceforth, the PRA aims to be a celebration of past accomplishments and a way to announce and create buzz for projects on the horizon. 
A first meeting of potential volunteers will take place Sunday, April 26th at 5 p.m. at Marie-Eve Fortier’s residence:
165, rue Notre-Dame-de-l'île
Gatineau (secteur Hull) (QC)
J8X 3T2
Refreshments will be served.
There is a ton to be done, from small last minute jobs all the way to leadership roles.  Teri Loretto-Valentik and Marie-Eve Fortier will be happy to explain the plan of action.
If you would like to volunteer but cannot attend the meeting, please contact Marie-Eve and Teri at the following addresses:
Marie-Eve Fortier – eve.fortier@gmail.com
Teri Loretto-Valentik – teri.loretto@cbc.ca



Latest News

Dear Ottawa-Gatineau theatre community,
Much has been going on with the Prix Rideau Awards (PRA) since our last message in January. 
As such, the Board of Directors and myself thought it important to provide an update in regards to this work and its short and long term consequences. 
Some of this information was previously distributed via Porta(i)l and most was announced during the recent AGM, but a little repetition never hurt anyone.


1.      As previously announced, two ad hoc committees, one anglophone, the other francophone, have been working hard to redesign the rules and regulations for awards given ; 
2.      A complete first draft of the French language Rules and Regulations has been completed. Meetings have taken place and will continue to take place with various artistic directors for input and validation of certain choices.  One more meeting will take place with the ad hoc committee in order to validate recommendations made by various artistic directors before final adoption by the board of directors ;
3.      The anglophone ad hoc committee has met three times and is close to completing a final draft of updated Rules.  These Rules and Regulations will be circulated via e-mail for community input.  Once comments have been received, a final version will be put to the board of directors for adoption ;
4.      This of course means that rules and regulations will not be the same in both languages, nor will the groups give out the exact same prizes ;
5.      Both sets of Rules and Regulations will be posted on the Web site once adopted by the board of directors.


In early May, a call will be sent out for jurors wishing to help in the evaluation of shows throughout the 2015-2016 season. We would ask interested parties to first consult the updated rules and regulations in order to make sure that they can comply with these rules when judging shows.


1.      Tim Oberholzer has announced that he will be leaving the board of directors when leaving Ottawa for Vancouver.  His contribution has been very significant during this period of change and we all wish to say a strong “thank you” for all his hard work;
2.      Charles Champagne has also announced that he will be stepping down as the PRA’s Webmaster.  Many, many thanks Charles for all your hard work;   
3.      Sarah Migneron will also be stepping down as translator. Mille fois mercis Sarah!


1.      Mícéal Gallagher has agreed to step in as our new Web master : welcome aboard!




The official results are in! Congratulations to all the winners, nominees and volunteers in making the 2014 Prix Rideau Awards Gala such a success!



Nominees and Gala Tickets!

Prix Rideau Awards is proud to announce the nominees for 2013!
Artists and supporters gathered earlier at Le Petit Chicago, where the nominees for outstanding achievements in the year 2013 were unveiled.
To read the press release and for a complete list of nominees, click here.
The Prix Rideau Awards will be handed out on Sunday, April 27, 2014, in All Saints Sandy Hill's Bate Hall, in Ottawa. Buy your tickets today by clicking here!
Looking forward to celebrating with you!

Announcing the 2013 Nominees!

Join us to find out who the nominees are for the 2013 consideration year.
What: a “5 à 7” cocktail party
When: February 26th, 2014, at 5 pm
Where: at Le Petit Chicago, 50, Promenade du Portage, Old Hull
Raise a glass in honour of all artists, nominees, the community and theatre in general! 
For more information, click here.
See you there!